OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON

Sutter County
JILL LAVINE

Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY ALLEN DARLING Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA

Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

March 16, 2016

The Honorable Andy Vidak State Capitol, Room 3082 Sacramento, CA 95814

SB 967 (VIDAK) -SUPPORT

Dear Senator Vidak:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for SB 967, which would authorize reimbursement to counties for the expenses incurred in the preparation and conduct of elections to fill vacancies for state and federal offices after January 1, 2008, and before December 31, 2016.

We appreciate your recognition of the fiscal burden these elections have placed upon the already strained resources of local governments. This bill represents a significant on-going effort to relieve counties of the costs of electing state and federal officeholders to vacant positions.

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Senator Ben Allen, Chair, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee
Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee
Cory Botts, Consultant, Senate Republican Caucus
Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill La Vine, Co. Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee